Schweppes Heritage

Schweppes is often credited with being the original carbonated soft drink. Scroll below and discover our history.

Start the Journey

Late 1700s

Meet Jacob Schweppe

Swiss-born watchmaker, amateur scientist, and ruthless dreamer, Jacob Schweppe was drawn to the new art of carbonating water discovered by Joseph Priestly in 1770. Schweppe refined and patented his own process of creating mineral water in 1783.

1783

Lightning in a Bottle

Schweppe developed a special bottle that, by laying it on its side and keeping the cork moist, was able to retain carbonation. He moved the business to London in 1792 and the soft drink industry was born. He added quinine to the carbonated water to create the world’s first soft drink, Schweppe’s Tonic Water.

1851

Schwepped up in Success

Schweppes bids and wins the right to supply refreshments to the first official World’s Fair in 1851. His sparkling drinks are enjoyed by businessmen, dignitaries, artists, writers, and scientists during its two-week run London. This allows the Schweppes name and product to reach new and expanded audiences as Englishmen take their favourite beverages with them all over the world.

1941

The War is Over

Enter Commander Whitehead, stage left. With the end of World War II, demand for Schweppes increases overseas, particularly in the United States. Schweppes taps one of its own executives, former British Royal Navy officer and head of Schweppes USA, Commander Edward Whitehead. The ad campaign features the stodgy, yet charismatic, Englishman offering erudite discourse on the beverage's unique "Schweppervescence".

1969

Schweppes and Cadbury

Schweppes merged with the Cadbury Group, a well-known confectionery company, to form Cadbury Schweppes PLC in 1969. With headquarters in London, the company expanded its soft drink and confectionery business internationally.

Today

To this day Schweppes Ginger Ale, Soda and Tonic are enjoyed around the world. Its quality taste and unique heritage sets it apart from the rest.

Schweppes héritage

Schweppes est souvent reconnu comme étant la première boisson gazeuse. Déroulez vers le bas et découvrez notre histoire.

Début de l’aventure

Late 1700s

Meet Jacob Schweppe

Horloger suisse, scientifique amateur et grand rêveur, Jacob Schweppe s’intéresse au nouvel art de la gazéification de l’eau, découverte par Joseph Priestly en 1770. Schweppe raffine la fabrication de l’eau minérale et fait breveter son propre procédé en 1783.

1783

Un éclair de génie dans la bouteille

Schweppe élabore une bouteille spéciale. Lorsque cette dernière est couchée sur le côté, le bouchon reste humide, ce qui permet de conserver la gazéification. En 1792, Schweppe déménage l’entreprise à Londres; l’industrie des boissons gazeuses vient de naître. Il ajoute de la quinine à l’eau gazéifiée pour créer la première boisson gazeuse au monde… le Schweppes Soda tonique.

1851

Un Schweppe de succès

Schweppes soumissionne et remporte le contrat pour fournir les rafraîchissements lors de la première Exposition universelle officielle... la grande Exposition de 1851. Ses boissons gazeuses sont appréciées par les hommes d’affaires, les dignitaires, les artistes, les écrivains et les scientifiques pendant deux semaines au Hyde Park à Londres. Le nom de Schweppes et son produit viennent d’atteindre un nouveau et important public, alors que les Anglais emportent leur boisson préférée avec eux partout dans le monde.

1941

La guerre est finie. Le Commandant Whitehead fait son entrée à gauche!

La Deuxième Guerre Mondiale prend fin et la demande pour le Schweppes augmente de l’autre côté de l’océan, surtout aux États-Unis. Schweppes se sert d’un de ses dirigeants, l’ancien officier de la Marine royale britannique et directeur de Schweppes aux États-Unis, le Commandant Edward Whitehead. La campagne publicitaire met en vedette cet Anglais, à la fois raide et charismatique, en train de faire un discours édifiant sur la qualité unique de la boisson… son «Schweppervescence».

1969

Schweppes and Cadbury

En 1969, Schweppes fusionne avec Cadbury Group, une importante entreprise de confiserie bien connue, et devient Schweppes PLC. Avec un siège social à Londres, l’entreprise propose aussi bien des boissons gazeuses que de la confiserie partout le monde.

Aujourd’hui

Aujourd’hui, Schweppes Soda gingembre, Soda tonique et Soda club sont savourés partout dans le monde. Leur excellent goût et leur héritage unique les distinguent des autres boissons.